

HM Sheikh Hamad bin Isa Al Khalifa Office of HM the King P.O. Box 555 Rifa's Palace Kingdom of Bahrain Brussels, 23 July 2020

To His Majesty King Hamad bin Isa Al Khalifa of Bahrain,

CC: EU Ambassador in Riyadh, the British, German, Italian and French Ambassadors in Manama, EU High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy Josep Borrell, and EU Special Representative for Human Rights Eamon Gilmore.

We, Members of the European Parliament, are writing today to express our deep concerns over the 12 individuals in the Kingdom of Bahrain at imminent risk of execution. We understand their executions await only your personal ratification and we respectfully ask you to seriously consider pardoning them or commuting their death sentences.

As you are no doubt aware, on 13 July 2020 the Court of Cassation upheld the death sentence against **Mohammed Ramadhan and Husain Moosa**. The trial garnered significant attention from international observers, as well as the media, due to the circumstances surrounding the proceedings, including the courts' alleged reliance on torture-tainted confession as primary evidence.

UN experts already raised their concerns on this case in February, and in anticipation of the trial, on 10 July, the Chair of the European Parliament's Subcommittee on Human Rights Maria Arena and Chair of the European Parliament's delegation for relations with the Arab Peninsula Hannah Neumann issued a joint statement expressing "grave concern over the failures of the courts in Bahrain to exclude torture evidence". On 14 July, this was echoed by the United Nations Human Rights Office of the High Commissioner (OHCHR).

Our concerns relate not only to Mohammed and Husain but to the 10 other political prisoners whose lives are also at risk: Maher Abbas al-Khabbaz, Salman Isa Ali Salman, Hussein Abdullah Khalil Ebrahim, Mohammad Radhi Abdulla Hassan, Sayed Ahmed Fuad Abbas Isa Ahmed Al-Abar, Hussein, Ali Mahdi Jasim Mohamed, Hussein Ebrahim Ali Hussein Marzooq, Moosa Abdallah Moosa Jafaar, Hussain Abdullah Marhoon Rashid, Zuhair Ebrahim Jasim Abdullah. In December 2018, three UN Special Rapporteurs warned that carrying out executions against the ten individuals named above without "all possible safeguards of fair trial and due process" or without "prompt and impartial investigation whenever there are reasonable grounds to believe that torture has been inflicted" would violate Bahrain's international obligations under the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights (ICCPR) and the Convention Against Torture (CAT) and constitute a "summary execution".

Accordingly, we would like to ask you to use your executive powers to pardon Mohammed Ramadhan and Husain Moosa and to pardon or commute the death sentences of the 10 other political prisoners at risk of imminent execution. We deeply believe that such an action would serve to positively advance Bahrain's international reputation. Lastly, this Parliament has frequently reiterated its opposition to death penalty and in this spirit, we would like to strongly encourage you to work towards establishing a moratorium on executions as a first step towards the abolition of the death penalty.

We thank you for your time and sincerely hope you will be willing to consider our request with the gravity it warrants.

Sincerely

,

Ernest Urtasun (Greens/EFA) Maria Arena (S&D) Hannah Neumann (Greens/EFA) Henrike Hahn (Greens/EFA) Dietmar Köster (S&D) Brando Benifei (S&D) Mounir Satouri (Greens/EFA) Idoia Villanueva Ruiz (GUE/NGL) Nikolaj Villumsen (GUE/NGL) Grace O'Sullivan (Greens/EFA) Yannick Jadot (Greens/EFA) Jytte Guteland (GUE/NGL) Marisa Matias (GUE/NGL) Alfred Sant (S&D) Erik Marquardt (Greens/EFA) Soraya Rodriguez (Renew Europe) Tatjana Zdanoka (Greens/EFA) José Gusmão (GUE/NGL) Izaskun Bilbao (Renew Europe) François Alfonsi (Greens/EFA) Reinhard Bütikofer (Greens/EFA) Margrete Auken (Greens/EFA) Kira

Peter-Hansen (Greens/EFA) Milan Brglez (S&D) Bronis Ropė (Greens/EFA) Salima Yenbou (Greens/EFA) Carles Puigdemont (NI) Toni Comín (NI) Clara Ponsatí (NI) Francisco Guerreiro (Greens/EFA) Veronika Vrecionova (ECR) Karen Melchior (Renew Europe) Alice Kuhnke (Greens/EFA) Pär Holmgren (Greens/EFA) Jakop Dalunde (Greens/EFA) Helmut Scholz (GUE/NGL) Alviina Alametsä (Greens/EFA) Raphaël Glucksmann (S&D) Francisco Guerreiro (Greens/EFA) Marc Tarabella (S&D) Sira Rego (GUE/NGL) Manu Pineda (GUE/NGL) Klaus Buchner (Greens/EFA) Javier Nart (Renew Europe) Isabel Santos (S&D) Jan-Christoph Oetjen (Renew Europe) Dorien Rookmaker (NI) Isabel Carvalhais (S&D) Tilly Metz (Greens/EFA) Robert Hajsel (S&D) Hannes Heide (S&D) Damian Boeselager (Greens/EFA) Katrin Langensiepen (Greens/EFA)