

To: Ursula VON DER LEYEN President of the EU Commission

Brussels, 2nd March 2022

Racism instead of solidarity: The situation of African students on the borders of Ukraine

Dear President von der Leyen,

On behalf of ARDI, the European Parliament Anti-Racism and Diversity Intergroup, we express our solidarity with all those people who are currently living the horrors of the Russian military aggression.

We support the people in Ukraine and Russia who do not want this war.

However, we are very concerned about the wave of anti-black racism of which Africans are the target. We note with horror that because of the colour of their skin, some European countries bordering the Ukraine refuse Africans entry into their countries.

This discrimination, racial profiling, only targets people of "black race," a visible minority.

Such an attitude shocks the human conscience at a time when the whole world is standing in solidarity with Ukraine, to learn that Ukrainians refuse African students access to public transport and that these young persons do not have the possibility to leave Ukraine and join the country of their choice.

According to the "Foundation for Investigative Journalism", und "Berliner Kurier" a group of Nigerian students protested on Sunday at the border between Ukraine and Poland after being detained by law enforcement officers under threat of at gunpoint.

If this is an official measure of the Polish authorities, we do not approve of it and do not understand that a country of the European Union acts against human rights and our values.

The African Union and most African countries have diplomatic, friendly relations with all European countries bordering Ukraine, this unfriendly gesture in the aftermath of the EU-AU summit would be in contradiction with the partnership that we want to establish.

We ask you, as President of the European Commission, to firmly call on European countries bordering Ukraine to respect the laws on asylum and to welcome the Africans who wish to flee from the war-torn Ukraine or at least to let them pass to the European country of their choice. It is clear that situation requires host countries to take into consideration their own interests, but the humanitarian issue should take precedence.

On behalf of all these people in distress, we ask you to use your influence to ensure that these discriminatory measures are immediately revoked and that the countries, members of the European Union, consider all those who are fleeing a country at war equally.

Yours sincerely,

Pierrette Herzberger-Fofana Greens/EFA

Cornelia Ernst The Left
Evin Incir S&D

Monica Semedo RENEW Europe Mounir Satouri Greens/EFA Romeo Franz Greens/EFA

Monica Silvana Gonzalez S&D

Samira Rafaela RENEW Europe

Isabel Carvalhais S&D Dietmar Köster S&D

Saskia Bricmont Greens/EFA
Nikolaj Villumsen The Left
Tiemo Wölken S&D
Anja Hazekamp The Left
Maria Noichl S&D

Francisco Guerreiro Greens/EFA

Margarida Marques S&D Stelios Kouloglou The Left Ivan Vilibor Sinčić Fraktionslos Rasmus Andresen Greens/EFA Margrete Auken Greens/EFA Kira Marie Peter-Hansen Greens/EFA Manuel Bompard The Left Malin Björk The Left Katrin Langensiepen Greens/EFA Mick Wallace The Left Özlem Demirel The Left Clare Daly The Left Eleonora Evi Greens/EFA Tineke Strik Greens/EFA

Ausra Maldeikiene PPE

Bronis Ropé Greens/EFA
Tilly Metz Greens/EFA
Patrick Breyer Greens/EFA
Charles Goerens RENEW Europe

Younous Omarjee The Left Brando Benifei S&D

Piernicola Pedicini Greens/EFA

Maria Arena S&D Robert Biedrón S&D Attila Ara-Kovács S&D

Soraya Rodríguez Ramos RENEW Europe
Thomas Waitz Greens/EFA
Helmut Scholz The Left
Aurore Lalucq S&D
Marc Johan Botenga The Left
Alexandra Geese Greens/EFA

Terry Reintke Greens/EFA
Marisa Matias The Left
José Gusmão The Left
Janina Ochojska PPE

Rosa D'Amato Greens/EFA
Monika Vana Greens/EFA
Henrike Hahn Greens/EFA
Francois Alfonsi Greens/EFA
Benoit Biteau Greens/EFA
Damien Careme Greens/EFA
David Cormand Greens/EFA

Gwendoline Delbos-

Corfield Greens/EFA Karima Delli Greens/EFA Claude Gruffat Greens/EFA Yannick Jadot Greens/EFA Michèle Rivasi Greens/EFA Caroline Roose Greens/EFA Marie Toussaint Greens/EFA Salima Yenbou Greens/EFA Ernest Urtasun Greens/EFA

Gabriele Bischoff S&D

Michael Bloss Greens/EFA
Luke Ming Flanagan The Left

Abir Al-Sahlani RENEW Europe
Frédérique Ries RENEW Europe
Jan-Christop Oetjen RENEW Europe
Alviina Alametsä Greens/EFA
Manuela Ripa Greens/EFA
Dimitrios Papadimoulis The Left

Fabienne Keller RENEW Europe

Pierre Larrouturou S&D

Chrysoula Zacharopoulou RENEW Europe Stéphane Bijoux RENEW Europe Marie-Pierre Vedrenne RENEW Europe Valérie Hayer RENEW Europe

João Pimenta Lopes The Left Sandra Pereira The Left