



Members of the European Parliament

President of the European Parliament Brussels, Belgium PAUL-HENRI SPAAK, 09B011 Wiertzstraat 60 B-1047 Bruxelles

21 February 2022

Subject: Nazi Salute in plenary and implementation of the Rules of Procedure

Dear Ms. President,

We are writing to call for disciplinary measures as stated in the Rules of Procedure against MEP Angel Dzhambazki for showing the Nazi salute in the plenary chamber on Wednesday (16th of February). Showing the Nazi salute is not only outlawed as hate speech in many member states, it is also an expression of sympathy to an antidemocratic and inhumane ideology of hate which caused millions of people, Jewish, Roma, People with disabilities, LGBTIQ*, Black people as well as political opponents their lives. It has no place in the European Parliament.

MEP Angel Dzhambazki has a history of hate speech within the European Parliament targeting in particular Romani and LGBTIQ* people as well as Muslims. His recent act is but a sad low point of his provocations.

As laid down in Rule 10 of the Parliament's Rules of Procedures (RoP), "the conduct of Members shall be characterised by mutual respect and shall be based on the values and principles laid down in the Treaties, and particularly in the Charter of Fundamental Rights. Members shall respect Parliament's dignity and shall not harm its reputation". Article 4 adds "in parliamentary debates in the Chamber, Members shall not resort to offensive language".

The following explanation, also in the RoP details: "The assessment of whether the language used by a Member in a parliamentary debate is offensive or not should take into consideration, inter alia, the identifiable **intentions of the speaker**, **the perception of the statement by the public**, **the extent to which it harms the dignity and reputation of Parliament**, and the freedom of speech of the Member concerned. By way of example, defamatory language, "hate speech" and incitement to discrimination based, in particular, on any ground referred to in Article 21 of the Charter of Fundamental Rights, would ordinarily constitute cases of "offensive language" within the meaning of this Rule."

The European Parliament Anti-Racism and Diversity Intergroup together with civil society partners has been working intensively since 2016 to ensure the strengthening of the Rules, but also its implementation. In particular, Rule 176 says: "In serious cases of breach of Rule 10 (2) to (9), the President shall adopt a reasoned decision imposing upon the Member concerned the appropriate penalty in accordance with this Rule".

The Anti-Racism and Diversity Intergroup (ARDI) requested many times that the Parliament's Rules of Procedure (RoP) are implemented and that MEP Dzhambazki is sanctioned.

Therefore, honourable President, we would like to ask you to sanction the member according to the rules of procedure.

The Nazi salute does not belong in the European Parliament; it belongs to one of the darkest chapter of European History. Hate speech is not freedom of speech.

Yours sincerely,

Dr. Cornelia Ernst, Co-President of the European Parliament Anti-Racism and Diversity Intergroup, The Left

Romeo Franz, Co-President of the European Parliament Anti-Racism and Diversity Intergroup, Greens/EFA

Monica Silvana González, Co-President of the European Parliament Anti-Racism and Diversity Intergroup, S&D

Dr. Pierrette Herzberger-Fofana, Co-President of the European Parliament Anti-Racism and Diversity Intergroup, Greens/EFA

Evin Incir, Co-President of the European Parliament Anti-Racism and Diversity Intergroup, S&D

Samira Rafaela, Co-President of the European Parliament Anti-Racism and Diversity Intergroup, RENEW Europe

Peter Pollàk, Vice-President of the European Parliament Anti-Racism and Diversity Intergroup, EPP

Monica Semedo, Vice-President of the European Parliament Anti-Racism and Diversity Intergroup

Dimitrios Papadimoulis, Vice-President of the European Parliament, The Left

Abir Al-Sahlani, RENEW Europe

Pernando Barrena. The Left

Michael Bloss, Greens/EFA

Milan Brglez, S&D

Damien Carême, Greens/EFA

Isabel Carvalhais, S&D

Anna Cavazzini, Greens/EFA

Katalin Cseh, RENEW Europe

Anna Donàth, RENEW Europe

Bas Eickhout, Greens/EFA

Łukasz Kohut, S&D

Dietmar Köster, S&D

Alice Kuhnke, Greens/EFA

Jan-Christoph Oetjen, RENEW Europe

Juozas Olekas, S&D

Sirpa Pietikäinen, EPP

Manu Pineda, The Left

Sira Rego, The Left

Terry Reintke, Greens/EFA

Diana Riba I Giner, Greens/EFA

Frédérique Ries, RENEW Europe

María Soraya Rodríguez Ramos, RENEW Europe

Alex Agius Saliba, S&D

Mounir Satouri, Greens/EFA

Tineke Strik, Greens/EFA

Ernest Urtasun, Greens/EFA

Kim van Sparrentak, Greens/EFA

Salima Yenbou, Greens/EFA