

3-club Competition, Sunday 15 September 2024.

Twenty-seven players took part in this ninth edition of the event which was played in excellent golfing conditions: sunny, warm, a few clouds and little wind.

Players were only allowed to play with three clubs (the putter counting as a

club). The format was Stableford and all played from the red tees.

Besides the individual competition there was a team competition. Until now in the 3-club, the teams were based on those of the Colin Rolls Trophy but, since these have become unbalanced in terms of the numbers of players per team, we decided to have teams of three players, each representing a planet in the solar system. The teams had approximately equal average handicaps.

As usual we had nearies of some form on every hole, including closest to centrelines down the fairways on holes 7 and 8.

Nearies were won by Graeme on 1, Wil on 2, Ronny on 3, Ben on 4 and 9, Beatrice on 7 and Garry on 8. No one hit the green in 1 on holes 5 and 6.

In the individual event, third place was claimed by Joe with 34 points (with a better back three) than Charles, while Gijs claimed first place with 36 points (with a better back six) than Garry. Congratulations to Gijs.

On the basis of just the average points score (plus 0.5 points for a nearie) team Earth were the clear winners with 32.8 points ahead of teams Venus and Jupiter.

Our thanks to Nelly behind the bar whose friendly efficiency kept us plied with food and drink afterwards.

Team	Hole		Pts		Pts		Pts	Total	Ave	#Near	Total
Earth	3	Ton Remmen	31	Garry Gould	36	John Sorensen	30	97	32.3	1	32.8
Venus	2	Paul McManamon	34	Wil Spangenberg	33	Ronny Boer	21	88	29.3	2	30.3
Jupiter	5	Charles Albers	34	Anna-G. Hjortnaes	27	Piet Hillebrand	29	90	30.0	0	30.0
Mercury	1	Joseph Pereira	34	Christine Sanders	25	Brian Taylor	29	88	29.3	0	29.3
Neptune	8	Robert Jansen	27	Marga Harboe-S.	23	Gijs Tan	36	86	28.7	0	28.7
Uranus	7	Sander Borst	34	Clare Bingham	28	Pierre Coste	20	82	27.3	0	27.3
Pluto	9	Graeme Mason	26	Helene Etienne	17	Kjeld Hjortnaes	34	77	25.7	1	26.2
Saturn	6	Ignacio Aguilar S.	21	Beatrice Meile	26	Willem Borst	28	75	25.0	1	25.5
Mars	4	Ben Smeltink	31	Anneke vd Eijkel	13	Rene v Zundert	20	64	21.3	2	22.3



The winners: Team Earth on the left and Gijs.