

EGC Walker Cup – 14th July 2024

The Walker Cup is the Category 2 Club Championship, played as a Stableford competition. In the past has been played in conjunction with first round of the Club Championship tournament. This year however, it was played as a "standalone" event on Sunday 14th July. A total of 18 participants (12 competing for the coveted Walker Cup, plus 5 "supporters" and 1 guest) enjoyed good weather, if a little breezy

The announcement of the results & the prizegiving took place in Escape a short while after the golf, and was kept as brief as possible as the Wimbledon Mens final was showing on TV, and was also attracting some interest !

(The full results are included below)



In 2nd place for the Walker Cup was Gijs Tan with 34 Stableford points



In 3rd place for the Walker Cup was Wil Spangenberg with 33 Stableford points (and a better back 9 than Stephen Durrant who also scored 33 points)



The best supporter/guest score was by our Chairman Brian Taylor, with 33 Stableford points



And finally, the Walker Cup winner was announced. With a very good score of 38 Stableford Points, Piet Hillebrand is the 2024 Walker Cup champion. Piet was clearly happy with his performanceso much so that he burst into song as he received the trophy !

Congratulations to Piet for his well deserved victory, and thanks to everyone who participated in the Walker Cup.

Also a big thank you goes to our supporters and our guest player who came all the way from South Africa !

Hope everyone had an enjoyable afternoon.

PLAYER	Walker Cup/ Supporter/ Guest	STB. POINTS
PIET HILLEBRAND	wc	38
GIJS TAN	wc	34
BRIAN TAYLOR	s	33
STEPHEN DURRANT	wc	33
WIL SPANGENBERG	wc	33
TON REMMEN	s	31
VALERIE THIRKETTLE-KAYSER	s	31
GARRY GOULD	wc	31
ANNEKE VAN DEN EIJKEL	wc	31
ALAN THIRKETTLE	wc	30
CAROL COLLINS (G)	G	27
WILLEM BORST	wc	27
GRAEME MASON	s	26
HELMA NOLLEN	wc	26
GEOFF BECKWITH	wc	25
BARTELD DE JONG	wc	25
CHRISTINE SANDERS	wc	21
SANDER BORST	s	19