

The Chairman's Challenge, ESTEC, Sunday 13 November 2022

The Chairman's Challenge, inaugurated in 1995, is one of the more unusual competitions in the EGC calendar. The playing format is a four-ball, betterball, Stableford points format but with a twist- i.e. a fox hunt. The foxes go out in front of the pack to set a new par for the course which the following hounds chase.

This year we were fortunate to have excellent weather, a mild temperature, sunshine, blue skies and practically no wind. The course was in pretty good condition though with dew on the greens for most of the day. On the down side it was plainly evident that our playing members should do a much better job of repairing pitch marks (so many 'historical') on the greens.

The 'foxes' were Helma, leading the Captain's team and Brian, leading the Chairman's team. Against the course par of 58 strokes, their better-ball Stableford score was 45 meaning the 'new' par for the course was set at 49 strokes. (With the new par, the foxes Stableford score would be 36).

Hole	1	2	3	4	5	6	7	8	9	
New par	4	4	2	3	2	3	2	3	3	26
Hole	10	11	12	13	14	15	16	17	18	
New par	3	3	3	2	2	2	3	2	3	23

The 'hounds' followed, not knowing the new par until it was announced when they got back to ESCAPE to catch-up with the foxes. There was then a prolonged head-scratching session as the hounds calculated their new Stableford scores over spicy tomato soup, a copious supply of various 'broodjes' and the odd glass of wine.

Of the hounds, only Clare and Joe could catch the foxes, but amazingly in a dead-heat all the way down to the last hole of the back nine!

The Captain's team was victorious with a total of 128 points against that of the Chairman's 122.

Brian Taylor and Helma Nollen					
Clare Bingham and Joe Pereira					
Valerie and Alan Thirkettle					
Klaus Ludwig and Gijs Tan					
Marga and Reno Harboe Sorensen					
Christine Sanders and Barteld de Jong					
Anna and Kjeld Hjortnaes					
Nely and Willem Borst					
Tony Rosmalen and John Reddy					
Contain/a team wellow. Chairman/a read					

Captain's team yellow, Chairman's red.



The foxes and the winning hounds. (photo Valerie)



The trophy, first won in 1995 by Bob Linsey and Chris Holt, (photo Clare)