Nocturnal

New album by Jesper Zeuthen / Jacob Anderskov / Anders Vestergaard

The multigenerational trio is back with new music that takes us deep into the night where intricate textures and melodic stories create an imaginative and enigmatic space.

Nocturnal is the third album from the critically acclaimed Danish trio, following the 2020 album "Ecstatic Embrace" and their 2018 debut album "Out of the Spectacle" which was awarded a Danish Music Award for Best Special Release. It is the trio's first studio album revealing a more detailed and multidynamic interplay with an open and spacious sound.

Alto saxophonist Jesper Zeuthen is a Danish legend, that got public attention already in the late 60's for his work with the group "Blue Sun". He has tirelessly kept evolving his music through his own bands and he has played renowned names such as with Terry Riley, Don Cherry, Marilyn Mazur and Paul Motian and Jakob Bro.

Jacob Anderskov is one of the most outstanding voices on the piano and he has, since his debut in 2001, received numerous awards for his music. He has worked with Michael Formanek, Evan Parker, Chris Speed, Airto Moreira etc. He is also a professor at RMC in Copenhagen.

Drummer Anders Vestergaard represents the youngest generation in the trio. He has a strong personal approach to the drums works steadily with a wide array of groups from Yes Deer's hard hitting free jazz to the melodic music of Girls in Airports. AV has also worked with Evan Parker, Lucas Abela, Toshimaru Nakamura etc.

Together the three musicians create immediate music that is simultaneously embracing and challenging for the listener. A contemporary nocturnal album.

Quotes:

"This trio is perfect. ... painful stories that go straight to the heart and soul. ... This concert will be remembered for a long time?"

Jan Granlie, 4. juni 2022, https://salt-peanuts.eu

"... The trio coalesces around (Zeuthen's) lines, which roam freely but remain deeply engaged with the action around him. As the record unfolds, Zeuthen injects some Balkan-style melody, as well as Ayleresque intensity, turning up the vibrato, while the other musicians powerfully prod and respond." $\bigstar \bigstar \bigstar \bigstar$ Downbeat Magazine, december 2018.



Album info

Artist: Jesper Zeuthen / Jacob Anderskov / Anders Vestergaard Title: Nocturnal Label: ILK Music Catalog number: ILK345 Barcode: 5706274010886 Formats: Vinyl and digital Origin: Denmark

Line up:

Jesper Zeuthen - Saxophone & Saw Jacob Anderskov - Piano Anders Vestergaard - Drums

Recorded at The Village in Copenhagen by Thomas Vang. Mixed by John Fomsgaard. Mastered by Arnold Kasar. Cover design by Miki Skak. Drawing by Jesper Zeuthen. All music by Jesper Zeuthen, Jacob Anderskov and Anders Vestergaard (KODA).

Tracks:

- A1 Dewfall
- A2 Tusmørke
- A3 Nocturnal Beings
- A4 Phantom
- B1 Moonbeam Crystals
- B2 Cosmic Eyes
- B3 Ceremony

Total running time: 41 minutes

Also available:

Jesper Zeuthen / Jacob Anderskov / Anders Vestergaard - Ecstatic Embrace (ILK315LP)

Jesper Zeuthen / Jacob Anderskov / Anders Vestergaard - Out of the Spectacle (ILK283LP)